Official Candidates in Philippine Senate Election 2013

Philippine Senate Election 2013

The midterm election to the Senate of the Philippines will be held on Monday, May 13, 2013. This is to elect 12 of the 24 seats in the Senate. Winning senatorial candidates in this election will serve up to June 30, 2019.

Due to the appointment of incumbent Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago in the International Criminal Court, her Senate seat may be vacated and would pave the way for the election of a thirteenth Senator in 2013. However, the thirteenth Senator will only serve for the remaining three years of Defensor-Santiago’s unexpired term.

Last Friday, October 12, the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) has approved 27 out of 84 candidates to run for Senator in May 2013.

COMELEC Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr Brillantes will call the 59 other aspirants for a hearing on October 18 and 19 “to justify the legitimacy of their candidacies.”

Below is the list of qualified candidates for the 2013 Senate election.

[table id=2 /]



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>